Uncategorized

Homemade Hawaiian Pizza Pockets 

I had to take a break from blogging for most of December due to some personal issues going on. I’m very excited to be back! I decided to have January be Healthy Comfort Food month, so you’ll be seeing comfort classics with healthy twists. 

Our first one is something I reach for when I need a super quick lunch, or am having a bad day and want nothing to do with cooking; Pizza Pockets. Little bundles of pizza goodness that I can pop in the microwave and be eating in about 2 minutes. What could be better than that? Well… Who knows what they’re full of? So I decided to make my own so I knew exactly what was in them. You can play around with ingredients. My only advice is to not put in too many watery vegetables. It can make them go soggy, so just be cautious. 

When I reheat these it take about 4 minutes, but my microwave is terrible. I advise starting with 2 minutes and going from there. 

When getting the ham for this I just went to the Deli counter and asked for 2 1/8″ thick slices of whatever ham I feel like. I also use Pillsbury pizza dough because it’s easiest, but feel free to make your own or use a different brand. It shouldn’t make a difference. 

Serves: 8 

Prep Time: 15 mins. Cook Time: 60 mins. 

Ingredients:

2 tubes Pillsbury pizza dough

1.5 cups pizza sauce

2 1/8″ thick slices of ham, chopped

4 pineapple slices

1/4 tsp garlic powder 

1/4 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp basil 

1.5 cups shredded cheese

Non-stick spray 
Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F. Spary baking sheet with non-stick spray. 

2. In a medium bowl mix ham, pineapple, pizza sauce, and spices until everything is covered in sauce. Set aside. 

3. Roll out pizza dough, cut in quarters. 

4. In the middle of one side of each segment of dough place 2.5 tsps of pizza sauce mix. 

5. Top with sprinkling of cheese. 

6. Fold the other side of the dough over the toppings. Create a seal by pinching the edges of the two sides of the dough together, and then fold in towards the center.

7. Two at a time, place pockets on the greased baking sheet and place in oven. Bake until golden brown, approximately 15 minutes. 

8. Remove, place on wire rack to cook, and repeat until all pockets are baked. 

9. Once cooled wrap in plastic wrap and place in freezer. 

2 thoughts on “Homemade Hawaiian Pizza Pockets 

Leave a Reply

