Comfort Food · Crock Pot · freezable · Main Dish · Meal Prep

Granny’s Beef Stew

wp_20160917_006

 

This has been a post I’ve been putting off for a while. Not because I don’t like the recipe, or because it doesn’t turn out fantastic. Quite the opposite, actually. This recipe is my Granny’s. It’s amazing fabulous and the epitome of comfort food. I can remember my Granny cooking it on every trip she and my Grandpa made to Canada to visit. I can remember my Mom making it. Why so difficult then? Well Granny passed away over 5 years ago, so writing what is essentially a tribute post has been difficult. It has to be just right, ya know? There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t miss her, and I hope she knows there are lots of people who still love her very much. This stew doesn’t fix any of that, but it definitely makes me feel just a little bit closer to her.

For the actually stew, it’s your basic, hearty beef stew. Granny never cooked it in a Crock Pot; that’s Mom’s adaptation, but if you can make it easier then why not! If your stew still looks runny after you add the first amount of Bisto, add a bit more. It will really depend on how much water you had to use to cover the ingredients. This also freezes really well. It’s one of my meal prep go to’s so I can pull it for comfort food after a bad day.

I really hope you enjoy this as much as I do, and maybe you’ll feel a little closer to Granny too 🙂

 

grannys-stew

wp_20160917_008

Directions:

  1. Cut up rutabaga, carrots (if needed), onion, and meat (if needed), add all to Crock Pot.
  2. Cover with water, do not overfill.
  3. Turn Crock Pot on high, cover and cook for 5 and a half hours, stirring occasionally.
  4. After 5 and a half hours place Bisto in a small bowl, add 2 tbs. water, mix, consistency should be thick but not lumpy. Add more water or Bisto as needed. Add mixture to stew, stir, cover and cook for 30 more minutes.
  5. During that time, boil water in a pot, add cubed potatoes. Cook until tender, approximately 10 minutes, drain.
  6. Put potatoes, butter and milk in a bowl, mash until smooth.
  7. Serve.

 

11143306_650040001794949_6829947681108913290_o

My wonderful lovely Granny. 

Leave a Reply

