Vegetarian

Kickin’ Veggie Chili

I was pleasantly surprised last week when, before I even had a post up, someone asked me for a vegetarian chili recipe on Twitter. I knew exactly what I was making as soon as she asked. My Mom has an awesome chili recipe. It’s not vegetarian, so I made some tweaks to it, but the base is the same. I love chili, especially in the winter. Nothing warms you up quite like it, and you can put just about anything in it. I made this one fairly spicy, so if you want a milder chili add in about half the amount of chili powder, cumin, and red pepper flakes. You could even leave out the red pepper flakes all together. If you want more heat you could add jalapeno or another chili in there. If you’re looking for more protein or heartiness you could add in more kidney beans, or a different kind of beans. I chose not to because I find it’s too much.

WP_20160716_17_34_13_Pro

Kickin' Chili

Directions:

  1. In a large pot heat oil over medium heat, add onion and cook until tender. Add garlic and brown lightly. Add peppers and veggies and cook until soft, about 4-5 minutes.
  2. Add diced tomatoes, kidney beans, water, tomato paste, and spices.
  3. Allow to simmer 30 -45 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  4. Optional: Serve over rice, or with crusty rolls. Top with cheese or sour cream. Phototastic-2016-07-17_fc0b8c21-6afd-42c3-95dc-5c79f6bd69ed(1)
Leave a Reply

